The event in my life that helps define who you are, and why

This is a tough one!  I can’t really think of any one event in my life that specifically made me what I am today, other than possibly finding my husband, Derek.  He brought about the most amazing light of both of our lives, our daughter Jennifer.  He has also shown me the incredible depth of compassion that is within him, by spending the majority of the time during the months of my mother’s illness with her and my father, and after she passed away, helping them out in any way he could.  Seeing this has shown me how easy it is for people to become mired within their own lives and concerns, and how awesome it is to help others with their troubles.  I have always aspired to be as compassionate as he was with them and is with others; I don’t believe I will ever reach his ability, but I do my best to try to be there for others who may need it.  We have also done our best to show our daughter how wonderful it is to be that kind of person, both for the other person and for your own soul.

Leave a Reply

